Reg No
11804078
Rating
Regional
Categories of Special Interest
Architectural, Scientific, Technical
Original Use
Bridge
In Use As
Bridge
Date
1730 - 1735
Coordinates
300825, 235799
Date Recorded
12/02/2003
Date Updated
--/--/--
Three-arch bridge over river, built 1732-4. Part ivy-covered coursed rough cut limestone walls centred on limestone ashlar triangular cutwaters having overgrown coping with moss-covered rendered rounded coping to parapets. Series of three round arches with mason marked limestone ashlar voussoirs centred on mason marked cut-limestone keystones. Sited spanning River Liffey.
A bridge representing an important component of the civil engineering heritage of County Kildare with the architectural value of the composition, one specified as a requirement of An Act for Repairing the Road Leading from the City of Dublin to the Town of Kinnegad in the County of Westmeath (1732), confirmed not only by the silver-grey limestone dressings carrying a unique collection of masons' marks, but also by the elegant "sweep" of the arches making a pleasing visual statement at a crossing over the River Liffey.