Reg No
13002012
Rating
Regional
Categories of Special Interest
Social, Technical
Original Use
Mill (water)
Date
1780 - 1820
Coordinates
213263, 275662
Date Recorded
24/08/2005
Date Updated
--/--/--
Remains of water driven corn mill, erected c. 1800, comprising wrought-iron undershot water wheel and drive mechanism. Set in ashlar limestone chamber. Situated on the north bank of the River Camlin. Now located within a late twentieth-century residential development. Associated weir to the east (13002492).
This simple but well-built industrial relic originally formed part of a corn mill and possibly a distillery, now both demolished. It probably dates to the late-eighteenth or early-nineteenth century, which was a boom period for the Irish corn milling industry. Although it has long ceased to function, the remains are technically important and give an insight into past industrial processes. Sites such as this are particularly vulnerable as their utilitarian nature makes them subject to extensive renovation or dismantling. It forms part of a group of related structures along with the weir (13002492) and the former industrial building (13002058) located to the south bank of the River Camlin. It is an interesting relic of the industrial heritage of the area and it continues to make a positive contribution to the built heritage of Longford Town. It was possibly in the ownership of a Michael and Michael Murtagh, c. 1850, the owners of a corn mill, stores, offices and yard on Great Water Street at this time.