Reg No
13400102
Rating
Regional
Categories of Special Interest
Architectural, Technical
Original Use
Bridge
In Use As
Bridge
Date
1850 - 1890
Coordinates
224810, 298617
Date Recorded
27/07/2005
Date Updated
--/--/--
Single-arch road bridge, built c. 1870, over unnamed river between Gulladoo Lough (to the west) and Lower Lough (to the southeast). Segmental-headed arch with dressed limestone voussoirs. Roughly dressed limestone spandrel walls and soffit with dressed limestone quoins to footing/below arch ring. Parapet walls not visible, covered with vegetation. It probably dates to the second half of the nineteenth century (road not indicated on 1838 map). Located to the extreme north of County Longford, on the border with County Leitrim.
This bridge is simple yet unusual in form, differing from the more commonly encountered small-scale bridges in County Longford. The single arch is unusually high and narrow, and finely crafted with clarity of line due to the well-dressed limestone quoins and voussoirs. It marks the boundary between counties Longford and Leitrim.