Reg No
20300229
Rating
National
Categories of Special Interest
Architectural, Artistic, Historical, Social
Original Use
House
In Use As
Hotel
Date
1750 - 1770
Coordinates
112758, 188518
Date Recorded
16/08/1997
Date Updated
--/--/--
Detached seven-bay two-storey over basement house with central pedimented breakfront bay, built c.1760, possibly incorporating earlier fabric. Now in use as hotel. Pitched slate roof with rendered gable chimneystacks and cut-stone copings. Exposed rubble stone walls with moulded impost moulding to entrance door and moulded cornicing to pediment. Replacement timber sliding sash windows. Round-headed door opening with timber panelled door having plain fanlight and flanking by sidelights. Lunette with fixed window to pediment. Retaining significant interior features including panelled window reveals, extensive ceiling plasterwork, centrepieces, cornices, lugged architraves, panelled shutter and staircase. Flight of cut stone steps leading to entrance.