Survey Data

Reg No

22205701


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural


Original Use

House


Date

1820 - 1860


Coordinates

176752, 138883


Date Recorded

03/06/2005


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Detached five-bay single-storey with attic farmhouse, built c. 1840, with lobby-entry plan and having single-storey lean-to extension to west. Now disused. Pitched slate roof with rendered chimneystack and replacement uPVC rainwater goods with cast-iron supporting brackets. Rendered random rubble sandstone walls. Square-headed window openings with rendered brick surrounds and having remains of timber sliding sash two-over-two pane windows, with limestone sills and cast-iron railings. Round-headed window opening to attic storey in east gable having remains of timber sliding sash six-over-six pane window and cast-iron railing. One-over-one pane window to rear. Four-centred arched door opening with spoked fanlight and timber battened door. Outbuildings with rubble stone walls and pitched slate roofs to site, with cast-iron water pump to yard.

Appraisal

This attractive farmhouse, with its classically proportioned symmetrical facade, exhibits some interesting features that belie its humble status. Its regular form is enhanced by the survival of features such as the simple spoked fanlight and round-headed timber sliding sash attic window. Though now disused, the overall character and form of the building and its yard has remains substantially intact.