Reg No
22902925
Rating
Regional
Categories of Special Interest
Architectural, Technical
Original Use
Bridge
In Use As
Bridge
Date
1815 - 1835
Coordinates
213043, 94825
Date Recorded
09/10/2003
Date Updated
--/--/--
Three-arch rubble stone hump back road bridge over river, c.1825. Random rubble stone walls with lime mortar, cut-stone triangular cut-waters to piers, and squared rubble stone coping to parapets. Series of three segmental arches with tooled limestone ashlar voussoirs, and squared rubble stone soffits having lime render over. Sited spanning Finisk River with grass banks to river.
A well-proportioned bridge forming an attractive feature on the Finisk River. The traditional construction in rubble stone serves to assimilate the bridge into the surrounding landscape, while the profile of the arches, which have retained their original shape, confirms the technical and engineering importance of the composition.